Who Cares – A Maintainers Movement Fellow Event with Circular City, led by Leila Behjat and Sam Bennett

05/04/2022 9 AM PDT | 11 AM CDT | 12 PM EDT

A conversation about the value of repair and maintenance from fixing bikes to building upkeep

Does a tear in your shirt mean the end of its use? Can a rusty bike be reborn again? How can you care for the worn floor in your home? Or the land your house is built on? And how does it all connect?

Join designers Sequoyah Hunter-Cuyjet and Catherine Murphy, and architects Betty Rexrode, and Damon Strub as they shared personal stories of care from small objects to multi-building units.

The Construction industry’s annual embodied carbon is responsible for 11% of global GHG emissions from new building materials. It is imperative that renovation and maintenance is prioritized over the new: new products, new construction. Together, we explored the role and perceived value of repair and trace a path towards a more sustainable stewardship.

Panelists included:
Sequoyah Hunter-Cuyjet Interior Designer, Educator, and Vice President, Determined By Design

Catherine Murphy Interior Designer, Educator, and Senior Researcher, Healthy Materials Lab

Betty Rexrode Architect, Rexrode Chirigos Architects

Damon Strub Bike Restorer and Founder, Nomad Cycle

Transcription Available Here